Sueshealthierlife|Bucket List Travel and Habits of Health

loving life with Travel, Tennis and learning the Habits of Health

I Hate to Grocery Shop…but do you know WHY?

Leave a comment

One of my biggest pitfalls as I am working on regaining my healthy weight is going grocery shopping.
This week I used our Stop.Challenge.Choose. several times while shopping and it brought me the realization that I am being bombarded with choice after choice after choice after choice of foods that are not good for me or worse yet are trigger addictive foods I don’t need. confused

How is it I go to the store with a shopping list of Veggies, meat, eggs, cheese, spices, stewed tomatoes and find myself going down the cookie aisle looking at all the boxes, actually picking up a few to read the nutrition info on it (I know, what nutrition?) Thank heavens I was able to Stop (take a deep breath) Challenge ( 200 calories 27 carbs for just 5 of those little things, is this going to get me closer to my goal or farther away) Choose (No, I am doing well and I don’t WANT them!)
fruit

Have you ever noticed how a grocery store is set up? For healthier eating most the foods you need are around the perimeter of the store. For example the main store I shop at you walk in and to the right are the fruits and veggies, followed by the service deli and bakery, turn the corner and now it is the seafood, meat, and then dairy. Most of the 16 aisles that run through the store are bombarding me with processed foods that contain little to no nutritional value. aisle after aisle of chips, cereal, cookies, candies, packaged potato mixes, rice mixes, soda, sweet rolls and so on. There is very little in these aisles I ever NEED, some canned foods, spices, a few frozen items and paper products.
isle
The stores set it up this way on purpose to get you to buy things that are not on your list. They want to entice you as you come through the aisles to pick up more, these items also offer the grocer more advertising dollars and a higher profit per item than the healthier choices around the perimeter of the store.

So for me the new rule is to go around the perimeter and either come back around the perimeter to get to the check our or down the paper products aisle. This will help me increase my willpower against the candy and cookies until I am strong enough for it to not call out to me… kinda how I can walk right past the beer and wine and not even think about looking at it or picking it up because I never acquired a taste for it.

Author: SuesHealthierLife

I love helping people with their Bucket List Travel and to learn the habits of health to live a happier healthier life. At this time in life I enjoy spending time with my family being a NANA, playing tennis, reading. enjoying true friendships and living my Bucket List Life

Leave a Reply

