Sueshealthierlife|Bucket List Travel and Habits of Health

loving life with Travel, Tennis and learning the Habits of Health

3 Steps to Overcoming Negative Self-Judgement

Leave a comment

mirror

Many people find that when they are in the process of changing their unhealthy habits, they start to exhibit self-sabotaging behaviors. This has a lot to do with the challenge of accepting a new body.

Have you ever had one of these thoughts?

•“Everyone says that I look so different but I still see the ‘fat’ me in the mirror”
•“I hope people don’t comment on my weight loss. It makes me feel so uncomfortable”
•“I know that I’m healthier, but I still don’t like how I look.”

We can easily get tangled up in, and hold onto, these negative self-judgments to the point where they dictate what we do and we end up stuck.

So, what can we do to stop getting pushed around? I follow these 3 steps:

1. Notice what my mind is telling me.
2. Acknowledge that it’s happening.
3. Do what matters.

Notice we are not trying to change these negative self-judgments. We are simply noticing them, separating from them, and then doing what matters. Our negative thoughts do not have to control our actions!

– By Nick Frye, LCPC, NCC, DCC

Author: SuesHealthierLife

I love helping people with their Bucket List Travel and to learn the habits of health to live a happier healthier life. At this time in life I enjoy spending time with my family being a NANA, playing tennis, reading. enjoying true friendships and living my Bucket List Life

Leave a Reply

